Northampton Community College students were celebrated for their outstanding leadership and participation in student clubs and campus activities. The virtual event was held on April 27. 

The students who were honored include: 

Quetcy Dueno Leadership Award – Jessie Scott 
A recipient of this award should be a leader on campus who has overcome obstacles in their life and had grown in their time here on campus. 

Since this fall, Jessie has taken on the leadership role as President-elect of Monroe NSO (Nursing Student Organization), along with an amazing team of student leaders. In spring, she moved to full-time president, as she and other nursing students exemplified leadership and giving back by serving in Monroe’s CARE Pantry, which provides food to NCC students. 

Silent Impact Award – Bristol Quian 
This award will be presented to a student who has been involved in a variety of activities on campus. It should recognize a person who rarely receives recognition for their work “behind the scenes” and represents humble leadership.  

According to his nominator this year, Bristol has been involved in numerous projects, including taking care of the butterfly garden, a spotted lanternfly survey, a plant survey for the arboretum at Monroe, the great backyard bird count, and a weather project to take snow measurements. Bristol has been very committed to making the Monroe campus a place that helps the environment and makes the campus a special place for everyone on campus and in our community. 

Student Life & Leadership Development Presidential Award – Rebecca James 
According to the nominator, the story of Rebecca James is the story of a rising star and there appears to be no limit to how high this superstar might rise. Rebecca has ascended from a teen struggling with homeschooling to a young adult who took it upon herself to earn her GED, enroll in community college, excel in all of her courses, join PTK, and become an officer. 

Rebecca James

Laconic Awards (NCC’s Arts and Literary magazine) 

Kylene Bain – Best Student Art Piece for Watercolor Tom Holland 

Alysha Johnson – Best Student Literary Piece for A Canvas 

Club Advisor of the Year Monroe Campus – Fran Boshell Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Beta Beta Chi 
Fran’s nominator said, “On a daily basis she guides our officers and members as they work through decision making processes that range from how to write an appropriate email to administration, how to approach conflict with team members, and how to be effective presenters…she is an invaluable part of Beta Beta Chi!” 

Club Advisor of the Year Bethlehem Campus – Tyler Russell Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Tau Gamma 
Tyler’s nominator had these kind words to say: “Tyler has remained humble despite his many accomplishments. He has never not been the type of person to reach out and help others in any capacity he provides. His humor has broken the ice in many Zoom sessions and there is significance in that. He made each session much less intimidating.” 

Club of the Year Monroe – Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Beta Beta Chi and Nursing Student Organization (NSO) 

At the regional conference, Beta Beta Chi received Five Star Chapter Status, 14th Distinguished Chapter in the region and Seong Kim was elected as PA President of the Middle States Regional Officer Team. Fran Boshell and Belinda Bartholomew were given the Region Horizon Advisor Award and Boshell was the keynote speaker at the conference. In addition to the awards above, PTK help multiple diversity-focused panels and a book drive. 

Nursing was recognized as an official organization just prior to the pandemic but still managed to meet regular, assist with the Monroe food pantry, and earn grant-funding to fulfill their mission. 

Club of the Year Bethlehem – Hospitality Management Club 
The Hospitality Club is a story of success across both campuses as they have been able to join the separate campus organizations into one in this virtual world. They received the most nominations of any club. Their Cops and Kids event and Cooking Demo are just a few examples of the events they held over the last year. 

Club Officer of the Year – Melanie Padilla, Hospitality Management Club 
Melanie has been able to juggle all of her previous responsibilities while increasing engagement and attendance with the Hospitality Club. Multiple nominators stated viewing Melanie as a role model and true leader. 

Prism Award Monroe – Meagon Negron, PTK Beta Beta Chi 
Meagan has served as a liaison between PTK BBC and Swarthmore’s Queer Union, as well as between PTK BBC and Tau Gamma. Meagan’s nominator stated that Meagan has been the driving force this semester behind PTK BBC’s LGBTQIA+ student panel discussion 

Prism Award Bethlehem – Morgan Brown, NCC Pride Gay/Straight Alliance 
Morgan’s nominator states that Morgan is the reason that Pride Club stayed active during the last year. “She constantly supports and goes to bat for trans individuals and pushes for respect and acceptance for the trans community. Through her hard work for the club and the LGBTQ+ NCC community and her efforts in just her daily life I think she’s a perfect fit.” 

Irvine Freshman Leadership Award – Kiondre Kenner 
Kiondre’s nominator stated that Kiondre has been working to make himself a better leader by joining clubs such as the hospitality club while also receiving a Certificate of Completion for the Fall 2020 Emerging Student Leaders Series, the RISE Leadership Conference, the Spring 2021 Emerging Student Leaders Series, and the “Our Leadership Journey” Series. 

Trustee Leadership Award – Chris Giannini 
According to his nominator, Chris has demonstrated superior leadership qualities and abilities while attending NCC, most notably with the work he did as the President of the Band of Brothers club. He planned, coordinated, and executed several events for the BOB club to raise money and donations for military personnel overseas. In addition, this student coordinated several community support events at the Country Meadows assisted living facility for veterans. 

Congratulations to all the winners!