The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) held two formal induction ceremonies at Northampton Community Colleges (NCC) Bethlehem and Monroe Campuses this spring. With over 3.8 million members worldwide, PTK is a prestigious organization that upholds a high standard in education, leadership, and achievement. Invitation into the honor society requires meeting specific GPA and college credit qualifications ensuring that only the most qualified individuals are welcomed into the society. 

Beta Beta Chi inductees with President Ruth and PTK advisors

On March 25, the eight inductees at Monroe campus were honored for their hard work and commitment to academic excellence. The Beta Beta Chi chapter’s induction ceremony began with a welcome address by Keynote speaker and 2022-2023 East District President, Kevin Ethridge. He shared his excitement for the new inductees and encouraged them to make the most out of this amazing accomplishment, explaining that “anything that you believe you are fit for, go for it, because the sky is the limit.” 

Tau Gamma inductees with President Ruth and PTK advisors

PTK’s Tau Gamma chapter on Bethlehem campus formally honored both the fall and spring inductees on March 31, with 121 new inductees in total. NCC President, David A. Ruth, shared some inspiring words during the ceremony, explaining to all inductees that “your induction into PTK means you have been lifted up by this community as one of our stars. Don’t forget that. When you have moments of doubt…and we all have them…remind yourself of this moment.”  

Both induction ceremonies were a proud moment for the new members, their families, and NCC, highlighting the importance of academic excellence and community service. NCC is proud to welcome each one of PTK’s new inductees and can’t wait to see what they will achieve moving forward. 

In addition, students from both the Tau Gamma and Beta Beta Chi Chapter of NCC attended both the 37th Annual Middle States Regional Awards Ceremony for PTK and the international conference this spring. Out of 85 chapters in the region, the Beta Beta Chi chapter of Monroe came back to campus with a record 23 awards and recognitions. Bethlehem’s chapter, Tau Gamma, also came home with multiple awards and recognitions. All are highlighted below. These types of award ceremonies highlight how impressive the PTK honor society is at NCC and how our students go above and beyond.

Notably, NCC’s Tau Gamma Chapter took home an award that is given to chapters named Most Distinguished Chapter for three consecutive years. Only nine out of 1,300 chapters receive this award starred below, a high honor.

Each year at Catalyst, five students are elected to serve a one-year term as International Officers. This is the highest position of student leadership within the organization. The International Officer Team includes a president and four vice presidents, each representing one of the Society’s four geographic regions. Monroe student and PTK member, Seong Kim, was elected to serve as International Vice President for Division I. He is the first student in NCC history to decide to campaign for office, make the semi-finals, and ultimately win the campaign! He will represent community college students for Division I, which includes 363 Chapters and 6 regional organizations including, Carolinas (NC, SC, Bermuda), Middle States (DC, DE, MD, NJ, PA), New England (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI,  VT), New York, Ohio, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Good luck to all our PTK members, as you continue to make the NCC community proud. 

Tau Gamma Fall 2023 Inductees:  

Anabel Abreu, Jarel Acosta Gonzalez, Essane Axelle Marie-Aurelia Agnimel, Rachael Allard, Ariana Allen, Crystal Arnold, Alba Arreaga, Avery Arthofer, Karina Aviles, Mery Azar, Tony Azar, Morotiola Babajide, Matthew Bartolone, Kayla Bobowski, Joel Borges-Lebron, Victoria Bradfield, Emilee Brewer, Isabelle Burnett, Isabella Butera, Annalise Caracappa, Elizabeth Causton, Madalynne Cerami, Tracy Christman, Alexander Clark, Allison Crilly, John De Meglio, Kayla Deleo, Ivannia Diaz, Tias E Weaver, Samantha Emmons, Emily Erwin, Jennifer Fleetwood, Anthony Flores, Zoe Fortkamp, Ella Foulk, Carrie Fuller, Sierra Green, Vincent Grossman, Yolimar Guerra Jimenez, Natalie Harrison, James Hartnett, Soleil Hartwell, Eric Heck, Emma Held, Latoya Jenkins, Kyungeun Jo, Mya Kelly, Cole Kiefer, Amanda Kiss, Kaitlyn Kistler, Jacob Kozlowski, Ryan Kulp, John Kuronya, Phone Kyaw, Coleen Lambert, Kiera Laslo, Danielle Lauziere, Truong Le, Marykate Lesnett, Jaylen Lesser, Zi Hao Li, Marisa Loccarini, Noah Lyon, Kevin Martin, Hannah Matthews, Elizabeth Mayers, Brandon Mazarul, Margaret Mbugua, Nicole Mele, Rebecca Michak, Daniel Miller, Sorayaa Mohammed, Sydney Moreira, Ryan Mottley, Jena Myer, Ngoc Nguyen, Lori Oberle, Rhoda Obi, Emily Okeefe, Nathaniel Olson, Aurora Ortiz, Madelyn Ott, Amanda Paff, Hannah Pelczynski-Kunda, Emily Pham, Crismayli Polanco Disla, Chloe Post, Moin Qureshi, Sundus Qureshi, Jennifer Rhoades, Jacob Rittenhouse, Robert Rittenhouse, Shanti Sajnani, Elio Sarkis, Alessandra Scipioni, Kristofer Sellers, Quadir Shands, Padraig Shay, Janelle Siekonic, Brooke Sliker, Cristal Smith, Doug Smith, Shelley Soto, Kira Sysko, Samantha Talero, Shatoh Todd, Eleana Turcios, Christina Varrone, Ruth Velarde, Kyleigh Vicoso, Krystal Vrobel, Jack Wagenheim, Abigail Wallbillich, Lauren Wehr, Barbara Welty, Samantha Wilcox, Caleb Williams, Phillip Williams, Vinayak Yadav, Gabrielle Young, Molly Zweifel 

Tau Gamma Awards and Recognitions: 

Beta Alpha Continued Excellence Hallmark Award **
Most Distinguished Chapter Award in the Middle States Region – 2nd place 
Most Distinguished Honors in Action Award
Honors in Action Theme Award: The Architecture and Design of Play – 1st place 
Most Distinguished College Project Award – 7th place 
5 Star Chapter Award 
Top 100 Chapter Award

Individual Awards: 
Most Distinguished Member Award – Erin Molchany
Horizon Advisor Award – Jennifer Del Quadro (For service and contributions to PTK programming for the Middle States Region) 

Beta Beta Chi Fall 2023 Inductees:  

Elina Braverman, Ariana Depaula, Emily Hoffman, Mason Klein, Jada McNeil, Andrew Schlager, Estella Shaheid, Autumn Zintel 

Beta Beta Chi Awards and Recognitions:  

Middle States Region League of Honor – 5th place 
Most Distinguished Honors In Action – 7th place 
Most Distinguished Chapter – 7th place 
Most Distinguished College Project – 9th place 
5 Star Chapter 
REACH Goal Chapter 
2nd Most Distinguished Officer Team 

Individual Awards: 
Distinguished Chapter Officer – Seong Kim 
Distinguished Chapter Member – Nicole Polanski 
Paragon Advisor Award – Fran Boshell 
Distinguished Advisor Award – Belinda Bartholomew 
Distinguished Advisor Team – Fran Boshell & Belinda Bartholomew 
Distinguished Officer Team – Kaitlyn Seawood, Seong Kim, Reiss Triantis, Samya Colon, Faith Bansa
Middle States Hero Hall of Fame – Kaitlyn Seawood & Seong Kim 
Middle States Region Superhero Hall of Fame – Seong Kim, 2nd place 
Outstanding Leadership Award 2023 – Reiss Triantis 
Creativity Connects: Visual Arts Superhero Theme Award – Seong Kim (Winner of $300 prize) 
Chapter President Recognition pin – Kaitlyn Seawood 
Nominee Pin for Most Distinguished Chapter Member – Nicole Polanski 
Nominee Pins for Most Distinguished Chapter Officer – Kaitlyn Seawood and Seong Kim