For the first time in over two years, the Student Leadership Awards were held in-person at both the Bethlehem and Monroe campuses to celebrate rising student leaders and those that have helped bring the energy and excitement of student life back to campus.

The ceremonies began by recognizing students for awards they have received this semester from agencies outside of campus including the Addy Awards, the Keystone Media Awards and Phi Theta Kappa honors before moving onto the Student Life & Leadership accolades being presented.

This year, there were two winners in both the Club Officer of the Year and Club Advisor of the year category on the Bethlehem campus. NCC Monroe also had a tie in the Club of the Year category. In response to the dual winners, NCC’s Director of Student Life & Leadership Development, Doug Smith, noted, “We have been in unprecedented times and sometimes that calls for an unprecedented response. When there is more than one worthy candidate that have both gone above and beyond you make the smart choice. The committee decided to present this award to two students this year.”

The Monroe Campus also introduced a new award in honor of the late dean, Dr. Matt Connell. The Dean Matt Connell Student Leadership Award was created to highlight an NCC Monroe student who exemplifies strong leadership qualities including a strong work ethic in their on-campus job, academic excellence and dedicated membership in at least one campus organization.

The complete list of Student Leadership Award winners included:

Club Officer(s) of the Year

Bethlehem Campus – Katrina Godek (Bad Apple Book Club & Kimberly Dwyer (Nursing Student Organization)

Monroe Campus – Victoria DeLande (Nursing Student Organization – Monroe)

Club(s) of the Year

Bethlehem Campus – International Student Organization

Monroe Campus – Film Society & Monroe Science Club

Club Advisor(s) of the Year

Bethlehem Campus – Karin Donahue (Psychology Club) and Diane Hahn (Bad Apple Book Club)

Monroe Campus – Antoinette McCreary (Nursing Student Organization – Monroe)

Prism Award

The PRISM award is given out yearly to an NCC student or organization who is a champion for creating a diverse and inclusive community throughout NCC’s campuses.

Bethlehem Campus – Jaileen Soto

Monroe Campus – Film Society, PTK & Active Minds for their collaboration with the Pocono Visitors Bureau for the Mental Health PSA Project (Monroe)

Quetcy Dueno Leadership Award

A recipient of this award should be a leader on campus who has overcome obstacles in their life and had grown in their time here on campus.

Winner: Seong Kim

The Dean Matt Connell Student Leadership Award

This award is presented in honor of Dean Matt Connell to an NCC Monroe student who exemplifies strong leadership qualities including a strong work ethic in their on-campus job, academic excellence, and dedicated membership in at least one campus organization where they have demonstrated tremendous leadership.

Winner: Calvin Hubbard

Irvine Freshman Leadership Award

The Irvine Freshman Leadership Award is chosen by the College Life Committee, and is given to a full-time freshmen who participated in student activities and/or student government in their first year at Northampton Community College. This award is made possible by Ken Irvine, a former faculty member, who made funding available through a generous donation to the college.

Winner: Crystal Koch

Environmental Excellence Award

The Environmental Excellence Award is given to a member of the NCC community who showed special effort in the areas of environmental protection, sustainability, environmental community, or an environmentally friendly lifestyle. This award is given in conjunction with the Good Growers student organization. 

Winner: Kiara Torres

Silent Impact Award

The Silent Impact Award is presented to a student who has been involved in a variety of activities but not necessarily held formal leadership position.

Winner: Samya Colon

Laconic Awards (NCC’s Arts & Literary Magazine)

Derek Allmon – Best Literary Piece for “Citrus”

Chrome Roman – Best Art Piece for “Two Sides of a City”

Student Life & Leadership Development Presidential Award

Winner: Rebecca Ashdot

Community Education Award for the Center for College and Career Readiness

Winner: Patricia Ashley

Monroe Library Services Award

Winner: Annie Cheung 

Pan African Caucus Educational Scholarship

Winner: Mercedes Artis

Congratulations to all the winners!