International honor society Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) has named Northampton Community College President Mark Erickson as a recipient of its Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award. The prestigious award is presented to retiring college presidents who have shown an active interest in supporting high-achieving students and developing student leaders on campus. Recipients are nominated by the students from their college. 

Erickson is slated to retire from NCC in June following a 10 year career at the widely recognized community college. “Dr. Erickson’s support of student success initiatives leading to stronger pathways to completion, transfer, and employment has been impressive,” said Phi Theta Kappa President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner. “He’s made student success a priority throughout his career.” 

“I’m truly humbled to receive this recognition,” said Erickson. “I’ve tried to make students and their success the focus of my work in higher education so it’s particularly rewarding to have my nomination come from our students.”

The award will be presented Erickson and six other recipients during PTK’s annual convention in Denver, Colo., April 7-9.