Northampton Community College (NCC) recently welcomed new members to its Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society chapters. The Bethlehem campus Tau Gamma chapter inducted 42 members, and the Monroe campus Beta Beta Chi chapter received six members. 

In order to be invited to join PTK, one must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and be a full-time student with 12 credits completed or a part-time student with 15 credits completed. Those who meet these requirements are inducted into the prestigious society that takes pride in leadership, service, scholarship, and fellowship. 

Tau Gamma held its induction on November 17. President of the chapter, Kiondre Kenner, explained the purpose of PTK to the inductees, audience and guests by saying “Phi Theta Kappa was originally established by the presidents of eight Missouri junior colleges, who met in the spring of 1918 at Stephens College in Columbia, Missouri. Their mission was to form a society to recognize and encourage scholarships among two-year college students. Today the purpose of Phi Theta Kappa still remains to recognize and encourage academic excellence at two-year colleges.”  

Arron Rosengarten, Esquire, was the keynote speaker for the Tau Gamma induction. Rosengarten is a 2015 graduate and former President of the Tau Gamma Chapter, who led Tau Gamma to become a five-star chapter for the first time in seven years. Currently, he serves as a judicial law clerk at Pennsylvania Commonwealth Court Dr. Robert Robinson, Vice President of Equity and Inclusion at NCC, was in attendance, and gave words of inspiration and closing remarks to the 42 new inductees. 

Beta Beta Chi held its induction ceremony November 14. NCC President Dr. Erickson gave opening remarks and congratulated the inductees. Keynote speaker Brianna Barone, International Vice President for Division I for the PTK International Honor Society, addressed the inductees and encouraged them to get the most out of their time with PTK. Beta Beta Chi inducted 6 new members to its chapter.  

Congratulations to the new inductees of NCC’s Phi Theta Kappa chapters. We wish you much success in your future endeavors at NCC and beyond.  

Tau Gamma Fall 2021 Inductees: 

Luke Assande, Christina Awwad, Alexandria Bartynski, Sara Beaupre, Niesha Calderon, Monea Cooper, Ashley Cordes, Erin Corter, Charlotte Dam, Valeria Delarosa, Jonathan Drago, Carey Ebersole, Sara Eddings, Karlene Fils-Aime, Connor Force, Kristan Gaspari, Jessica Grello, Dominque Griffiths, Nicole Hanna, Lauren Harrison, Samantha Hussey, Kyle Jones, Julia Kammetler, Eva Kibler, Cooper Lahoud, Quinn Langen, Makayla McGaughran, Alysha Monte, Charlene Morales, Elyssa Njango, Lisa Nolan, David Ober, James Owens, Kaitlyn Perl, Andrew Ross, Aya Rouhana, Lea Rumbolo, Chris Thorn, Noelle Vargo, Cynthia Wood, Wioletta Zieba, Jennifer Zubeck. 

Beta Beta Chi Fall 2021 Inductees: 

Kebra Charles, Jacqueline Derco, Sandra Garzon, Angela Knight-Williams, Melanie Padilla, Kayli Yates