Northampton Community College (NCC) held its annual Student Awards Convocation Ceremony on April 27, which recognizes the top-performing students for their academic achievements over the past year. 

Family, friends and members of the NCC community gathered in the Lipkin Theatre on the Bethlehem campus and joined via Zoom to support their students and congratulate them on reaching their goals.   

Professor of Hospitality, Rebecca Heid, the recipient of the Christensen Award for Excellence in Teaching award, addressed the audience on the advice and guidance she gives her students.  

“When you have a barrier, go forward anyway,” and “Try something, and see how it fits,” she said, noting that these two pieces of advice help students persevere even when they’re questioning their direction and face adversity.  

“This is something you will always have, but this is just the beginning. We can’t wait to see what you do,” Heid concluded. She then played a slideshow of photos from the work she did with her students over the past ten years. 

President of NCC, David A. Ruth, Ph.D., said of the students receiving awards, “Each of them in their own way has had to overcome challenges on the road to earning their degree.” 

Each presenter felt the students honored this afternoon exemplified excellence and all of them make the NCC community “NCC proud.” These students were honored for their speaking skills, creative skills, and other life skills that will take them far in their endeavors.  

Student speaker at this May’s spring commencement, and trustee leadership award recipient, Kaitlyn Seawood, has held many leadership roles and taken many chances, which she said molded her into the person she is today. 

“I was provided every opportunity to succeed in my goals, both personal and professionally. Through the guidance of the NCC community, I was able to grow. None of this would be possible if I hadn’t found a home at NCC. Maybe one day I can return to NCC as a professor to inspire the next generation of journalists.” 

“This is truly the heart of what we do here at NCC,” said Dr. Ruth, “While I’m extremely proud of what our students do every day, this afternoon, I’m filled with another level of pride. Please know that we expect to see great things in the future. I have no doubt you’ll leave your indelible mark in the world.” 

The president concluded by telling the students, “Just know NCC will always be your home.” 

Congratulations to all of this year’s award recipients! 

Coca Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar Award: Seong Kim 

Coca Cola Academic Team Silver Scholar Award: Mark Petrik, Kaitlyn Seawood 

ACBSP Student Leadership Award: William Thompson, Joel Borges-Lebron, Michael Dredla, Luis Rodriguez 

American Advertising Federation/Greater Lehigh Valley Ad Club Creative Achievement Award: Dayra Sanchez 

Award for Excellence in Academic Writing: Angelina D’Andria 

Bethlehem Women’s Club Nursing Award: Mackenzie Hutchinson 

Commuter Transfer Scholarship Award: Kaitlyn Seawood 

Eastern PA Chapter of the American Insitute of Architects Award: Dakota Koch 

The Friends of Gregory Purdon Memorial Award for Excellence Art: Kira Sysko 

Heart of Hospitality Award (Discover Lehigh Valley): Mya Brinker 

Hites Family Foundation Higher Education Endowment Scholarship: Essane Agnimel, Nina Buschi 

Honors Program Award: Alexis Brown, Eric Fonseca, Mark Petrik 

Institute of Management Accounting Award: Amanda Taylor 

Just Born Business Award: Jesiah Schrader 

Liberal Arts Award: Marissa Epler 

Marconi Award for Media Production: Andrew Van Antwerp 

Marketing Insight Award: Lyndsay Coyle 

Nancy A. Taylor Endowed Scholarship: Lauren Harrison, Ruth Velarde 

Norman R. Roberts Theatre Scholarship Fund Award: Joshua Crowley, Amelia Illingworth, Michael Sheridan, Connor Sternberg 

Northampton County Bar Association Award: Lauren Harrison 

Annual PACES (Pan African Caucus Educational) Scholarship: Maurice Whan, Jamari Meade 

Sandra Preis & George Jain-Cocks Endowed Mathematics Award: Tony Azar 

Trustee Leadership Award: Kaitlyn Seawood 

Business Capstone Excellence Award: William Thompson, Lyndsay Coyle, Elizabeth Gadoury, Derek Carl, Patrick Guerro