2023 Monroe Student Life and Leadership Awards 

Clubs and individuals were recognized during NCC’s student awards celebration.


On May 8, Northampton Community College (NCC) held its Student Life and Leadership Award Ceremony at the Monroe campus. This event is to acknowledge and celebrate students and staff for their outstanding demonstration of leadership and participation in student clubs and activities for the 2022-2023 year.  

The ceremony started with a warm welcome from the event’s host, Assistant Director of Student Life and Leadership, Frances Boshell, who highlighted the importance of leadership in personal and professional growth. The event also featured keynote speaker and NCC alum, Kelly Kemmerer ‘05, who shared insights on her leadership roles at NCC and how much they have helped in her career. President of NCC, Dr. Dave Ruth, and Interim Monroe Campus Vice President, Dr. Michael McGovern, both took time to welcome everyone in attendance and thanked the NCC community for coming together to celebrate the astonishing achievements of Monroe campus students and staff. 

Special recognitions included PTK Beta Beta Chi Chapter Awards from the International Catalyst Convention, the Film Society for their short film, The Briefcase, featured at the Allentown Film Festival, Early Childhood Education Professor, Kate Curry, and Director of Community Partnerships, Dee Raneri, for their work with the Maker Space, and Office Assistant, Liz Gallo-Rios, for her work with the Veteran Space.  

“Each award holds an admirable amount of self-pride, validating that all the effort and dedication towards what was accomplished did not go unnoticed. Each recipient has been chosen based off their leadership, character, and overall commitment to their role in each of their clubs or organizations,” said Boshell. 

Student life and leadership plays a significant role in student success, engagement, and personal growth. NCC’s attention to this critical part of the college experience is what sets it apart from other community colleges.

Congratulations to all of the award recipients!

Student Leadership Award Recipients:

Learning Center Awards: Tutors, Reiss Triantis, Kaleb Missmer, Scott Krock, and Cristina DeVore, and is Front Desk Assistant, Amber Martes 

Center for College and Career Readiness Award: Hasina Husseini 

Club Advisor of the Year: John Tindell, Film Society 

Silent Impact Award: Brittney Miller and Reiss Triantis 

Club Officer of the Year: Melissa Merlo, Nursing Student Organization and Nicole Polanski, Women’s Club 

Dean Matt Connell Student Leadership Award: Kaitlyn Seawood 

Club of the Year: Monroe Black Student Union and Monroe Women’s Club