On April 29, 2021, Northampton Community College (NCC) held its annual Student Awards Convocation Ceremony, an event where NCC bestows its top academic honors on students who have excelled during the past academic year.  

Moving to a virtual format for the second year in a row was a reminder of the challenges being faced at NCC and around the world.   

“But that only magnifies the importance of recognizing the accomplishments of our students who have had to confront obstacles unlike any other in NCC’s history,” Dr. Erickson, president of NCC, said during his live remarks.  “And while we can’t honor our students live and in person, technology does allow us to do the next best thing.” 

He told the students, “You continue to define NCC in ways that are so impressive, making an impact on our campus, in our communities, workplaces and your families, rising above the COVID crisis as well as academic and personal challenges to succeed when it mattered most. You are shining examples of NCC at its very best and are giving new meaning to the words Spartan Strong!” 

Dr. Erickson then recognized the six students, Caitlin George, Josephine Milanzi, Rebecca James, Evan Meister, Nia Marrow and Victoria Rosenthal, who were named to the PTK All-Academic Team based on academic excellence and leadership.  

Following Dr. Erickson’s remarks were taped segments by faculty who shared their experiences of the students who were being honored in other areas. 

Christopher Giannini, a Navy veteran, the winner of the prestigious Trustee Leadership Award and the student speaker, shared how his leadership journey began during his military career. “I learned in the Navy there is no challenge I can’t overcome. No one is born a leader, and everyone from a business executive to your favorite coach had to work very hard to get where they are today,” he said. “We’ve all accomplished one of the biggest challenges of our lives by achieving our goals during a pandemic.”    

Jeffrey Armstrong, associate professor of psychology and last year’s recipient of the Christensen Award for Excellence in Teaching, gave the convocation address.  He offered a challenge to the students “some of the most talented persons in this part of the universe” to help make the world better during a disharmonious time.  

“I don’t want to believe that things can’t get better,” Armstrong encouraged, asking the students to be decent, compassionate humans, even to those who oppose them. 

The awards and their recipients include:  

2021 All Pennsylvania Academic Team: Caitlin George, Josephine Milanzi, Rebecca James, Evan Meister, Nia Marrow and Victoria Rosenthal 

2021 Coca-Cola New Century Workforce Scholar:  Josephine Milanzi

American Advertising Federation/Greater Lehigh Valley Ad Club Creative Achievement Award:  Natalie Filchner 

Bethlehem Women’s Club Nursing Award:  Ashley Noemi Rivera 

Excellence in Global Studies: Yasmin Al-Basheer

Heart of Hospitality Award (Discover Lehigh Valley): Rayn Fianna Feeney 

Hites Family Foundation Higher Education Endowment Scholarship:  Khattab Ahmed and Janine Magee 

Honors Program Award:  Morgan Bayer, Jarisa Luz Cruz and Jessica Van Orden 

Institute of Management Accounting Award:  Alexa Marie Fancera 

Just Born Business Award:  Holly Crosslin 

Liberal Arts Award:  Alex Allen and Kate McCormick 

Marconi Award for Media Production:  Medina Davis 

Marketing Insight Award:  Courtney Deemer 

Nancy A. Taylor Endowed Scholarship: Rebecca James and Ebony Rosa Nunes 

Newman Civic Fellow Award:  Autumn Cunningham 

Norman R. Roberts Theatre Scholarship Fund Award:  Alexis Cole and Carter Reichard 

Northampton County Bar Association Award:  Linda E. Hess and Courtney M. Wise 

Pearson Education Award for Biology: Jessica Supers 

Annual PACES Scholarship (Pan African Caucus Educational Scholarship):  Zamarrie Pusey and Kendly Smith 

Sandra Reis and George Jain-Cocks Endowed Mathematics Award:  Keith Romano 

Trustee Leadership Award: Christopher Giannini 

Irvine Freshman Leadership Award:  Kiondre Kenner

Service Learning Award: Abdul Latif Adam, Afi Laeticia Bedjra, Francis Boroh, Lenny Vanessa Garcia Roja, Yadina Maselesele, Dewi Sartika, Oorvi Yarnal, Hawa Sumaila, Mac Hilt, Brooke Coonrod, Nia Marrow, Maria Bartolucci, Arianna Viera, Holly Daubenspeck, Rebecca Docteroff, Syeda Hussain, Amanda Cuello, Emily Seepes, Zamarrie Pusey, Tyler Rivera and Kevin Nacipucha